Being a nice guy

I long time ago I decided that if I was a genius and an asshole, the world would tolerate me. If I was average and a REALLY nice guy, the world would embrace me. If I was average and an asshole, I’d have a seriously hard run of it. And if I was a genius and a sweetheart, life would be really fun. As it wasn’t my job to declare whether I was a genius or not, I decided to concentrate on being a good person, as the best possible thing I could control, come what may. Seems to be working out.

And no, I don’t think that “nice guys finish last.” Not at all. People who are compulsively “nice” and never find their center or their boundaries get eaten alive, true. But no one is saying you have to be a doormat to be “nice.” I genuinely like myself, and genuinely see myself in the human beings around me. Its actually easy.

Leave a Reply

