Chapter 4: Auto suggestion

The subconscious mind takes any orders given it in a spirit of absolute FAITH, and acts upon those orders, although the orders often have to be presented over and over again, through repetition, before they are interpreted by the subconscious mind. Following the preceding statement, consider the possibility of playing a perfectly legitimate “trick” on your subconscious mind, by making it believe, because you believe it, that you must have the amount of money you are visualizing, that this money is already awaiting your claim, that the subconscious mind MUST hand over to you practical plans for acquiring the money which is yours.” —Napoleon Hill

This applies also to love, fitness, or any sort of performance.  Every biography of a successful person includes not only massive work on their part (often viewed as a labor of love) but constant visualization and emotionalization of their goals, sometimes viewed as an ecstatic vision.

Goals + Powerful Emotions + Repetition = Auto-suggestion.

Remember the “MAGIC Formula” extracted from another great work, “The Science of Getting Rich”?   

Magic = Action X Gratitude X Intention X Conviction.

Action is the physical component, and as emotion is created in part by the way we use our bodies, it generates feeling.

Gratitude IS emotion, an emotion that vanquishes fear and generates faith.

Intention is your goals, now emotionalized. If you use this as part of your “morning ritual” and really PUSH your body language and tonalities to the positive, you are aligning yourself so that every day you get started with the most powerful positive emotions possible.

Conviction is “faith,” clarity, belief that your allies are with you, your emotions are healthy, your goals CAN and SHOULD be achieved and are in alignment with BOTH your childhood dreams and your “deathbed” values.  This is where you see how your goals will benefit not just you, but your family, community, country, world.   All systems are “go.”

This fantastic book is about individual achievement.   In my own life, my desire for love, health, and success consumed me, and the only thing that kept it from becoming an unhealthy mania was that it was balanced. I literally cannot go a day without working, working out, and loving my family.  Can’t do it.   The years of chanting, meditating, visualization and emotionalizing have done their work.

I’m tweaking them now for a couple of little adjustments, as life has shown me some refinements.    I’ve never been particularly political, but wish to affect the external world and the social health of an entire nation.

My vehicle is telling my own story in alignment with the greatest secular success book ever written, showing how the individual success can change the world.

##

If you doubt that repeating something over and over again can imprint positively, ask if you believe  that you could scream at someone, threaten them, tell them they are garbage over and over again and not influence their self-image.

Happens to children all the time.  To spouses, emotionalized by fear, lack of independent finances or need for sex and love.  Horribly destructive to self-image.

See the way this can happen to entire cultures.   The Hero’s Journey is the core story BECAUSE IT WORKS.  It taps into our sense of the way life works, and has been used by village elders since the beginning of human history to imprint lessons and desirable beliefs and emotions.

If you want to know what happens when a dominator culture gets to control the image systems, the education, the storytelling that imprints a dominated group, just look anywhere in the world where there are colonized peoples, and depending upon the degree of destruction of their culture, you will see the price of accepting the dominator’s view of the world.

Even if the people still have their language, history, religion, cultural stories and lands (but have “merely” been dominated) you will see depression, alcoholism, domestic violence, and other signs of self-destruction. You’ll also see increased criminality not just because of that damaged self image, but also because the dominators control finances, the courts, and the organs of law enforcement.  If you don’t think people leverage such advantage, you are seeing a very different reality to that I’ve experienced.

And if the people HAVE lost their language, cultures, religions, mythologies, names, and so forth?

They can be totally brainwashed into becoming something that serves their oppressors, and the results are horrific.

What is the answer here in America? I can only say what mine was:

To go so deeply into the question “who am I?” that I pierced the veil of race, gender, and even identification with humanity.  Down to the animal. Then from there, built back up: human, male, Nationality, race, profession, and so forth.

All in a straight line, from below even animal: to living thing, to existing thing, to the moment of creation of the universe.

I am a child of creation. Nothing and no one human stands between me and that moment of creation, over seven billion years ago.

I am a child of creation.  Nothing in the universe, no star or human being, is superior to me. Nor am I superior to any human being or ant. I merely “am.”

That belief took me far afield, often feeling like I was only pretending to be human.  My children certainly “anchored” me back down.   Toni, my first wife, rooted me to the world with her love. 

Darnell Gadberry challenged me to begin to tell stories that reflected my ethnicity, that I address the pain that had destroyed my mother and my parents’ marriage.  “If not you, who?  If not now, when?  And why would you want to write stories for the pleasure of people you wouldn’t want to have in your home?”

Damn.  I knew it would cost me.  Terribly. But…less than the cost my father, and grandfather, and great-grandfather had paid.   It was just my turn in the barrel, so to speak.  And if I didn’t do my share, I was betraying their sacrifice, and passing my burden on to my children.

That I will not do.

Tananarive showed me that I could identify with my racial heritage and still flow around the pain.  And ultimately see how her parents had protected her and her sisters from the horror by giving them a pride in their heritage my own mother did not and could not give me.  And that if I did not…I could not help people who needed me.  That as rare a creature as I was (and anyone who seeks only to be themselves is a rarity, as there is only one of you) the things I knew were rarer still in the black community.   I could either be in denial of that…or embrace the implied obligation.

And so long as it does not separate me from the world, that is what I’m doing.

So I spent fifteen years in intense thought about it, tested ideas in endless debate and conversation, listened and studied and finally devised an approach in alignment with spirit, emotion, practical needs and my personal beliefs.

1) Love yourself ruthlessly.

2) Love others as yourself, and believe in the equality of man.  No guilt, blame or shame: just “right action” “right thought” “right livelihood.”

3) See the entire history of mankind as a flow of life and energy.  Anger flowing from fear.   Hatred flowing from lack of self-love or illusion of separation. 

4) Recognize your family.  You do NOT need total agreement. We have enough people now to simply get ‘er done.   Be kind to the sleepers, and avoid treading on the snakes…unless you cannot, in which case tread HARD and FAST.  Ahem.

5) Let your light shine.   Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

Marianne Williamson made famous by Nelson Mandela

Perhaps I am deluded about the path I see. That is totally possible. But it is not for me to say.  It is for me to step out, state as clearly and honestly as possible the reality before me, and let others decide its value or lack thereof.  I’m not made of glass.  Let me have it.

And meantime…Let your light shine.  Thrive.  Succeed. Be loving and dynamic and wealthy and happy.

And then when people ask “how did you do this..?” 

Show them.

Namaste,

Steve

http://www.lifewrite.com

Leave a Reply

