https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k72z8ZjWqBI

Wow!  I found this this morning. This is the precise audio condensation of “Think And Grow Rich” that my mother used to play for me when I was a kid!  Over and over and over again, every day, until I thought I was going to go nuts. But…it sank in.  I began to find my behaviors falling in line with it, and my attitudes, and emotions, and strategies.  And to the degree that they did, I began to create the life I dreamed of.

Only forty minutes long, if you haven’t yet read the book, or haven’t read it recently, there is NOTHING you have on your schedule this week that is important enough to stop you from clicking on that link and listening to Earl Nightingale interpreting this amazing book.

The one caution I will add is that this is a book about thought, emotion, and action all combined.    Take ANY of those three out of the equation, and it falls apart.  You cannot JUST “Think and Grow Rich”.

Emotional people often think wanting something is enough.

Intellectuals often think that having a “good idea” is enough.

Physically compulsive people often think that simply charging around “doing things” is enough.

No.  You have to have a plan, WORK your plan daily, and deeply emotionalize your days so that your actions are charged with desire.  Here is a quote that boils down this pattern (and wow.  Mom lit me up with this every damned day.  What a lady!)

This is part of a “Self Confidence Formula” to be written down and recited daily:

I know that I have the ability to achieve the object of my Definite Purpose in life, therefore, I DEMAND of myself persistent, continuous action toward its attainment, and I here and now promise to render such action.”

Wow.  If you simply begin to do this, constantly notice the results you are getting, and make continual research and learning part of your “action” it is very difficult to see what could stop you in life. You’ll constantly get feedback that tells you what works and what doesn’t work.  What hurts and what heals.

Do this long enough, and you’ll develop a map of how behaviors create results short and long term.  IF you are constantly researching and trying out different things, and notice the results while keeping your eyes on the prize, you are like a traveler who can see a distant mountain while he tries a variety of paths.  So long as you can continue to orient yourself, your chance of reaching that mountain are greatly increased.

And once you’ve found a path?  You can mark it so that the next person can find it more easily.   And this is where “modeling” is so powerful—by modeling the success of others, you can often cut years or decades off your thrashing blindly.  Imagine the difference between trying to build a house from scratch, without any idea how it works other than having lived in one or seen one on the street…or buying a blueprint, or working on a construction crew in some menial position and observing everything the plumbers, builders, roofers and carpenters are doing.

But you have to have that definite purpose, aligned with your passions, and acted upon daily.

##

One of the fun things about the Earl Nightingale condensation is the bowdlerizing of the “Sex Transmutation” chapter.  I can understand that: prudishness around this issue would have appealed to my mother and many of her generation. But substituting the term “Enthusiasm” is rather laughably shallow, barely even scratching the surface.  NOTHING except the raw survival drive triggered by a near-death experience is more motivating than the desire for sex.  For most healthy people, find a way to convince yourself that you’ll get more, hotter sex, or that you will be providing for your family by performing action X and X is pretty much done.

Just a thought.  But still, I love this recording!

Namaste,

Steve

Leave a Reply

