Should I go Forward? Part Deux

So…earlier/yesterday I laid down the foundation for believing I have a breakthrough in my lifetime’s work.  It is the fact that marketing genius Eugene M. Schwartz’s HOW TO DOUBLE YOUR CHILD’S GRADES IN SCHOOL seems to be making a phenomenal difference in Jason’s life in only five minutes a day.  No bullshit.

(in a spirit of total disclosure, his basic program is that you spend five minutes every day, in a totally positive frame of mind, focusing all that positivity and love on your child while doing the following, in the following order:

  1. “Examine the work he or she is going to turn in the next morning. See that handwritten work is neat and has no misspellings.”
  2. “See that work done on a word processor has been spell-checked and proofread.”
  3. Question what is not clear to you, and have your child explain it to you until you are sure he or she understands it.
  4. “Hear memory work.”
  5. Check Mathematics work for obvious errors
  6. Check the assignment book to be sure the student has completed all work
  7. Now check the work received back from teachers.  If it has errors on it, turn the paper over and ask your child to rework the problems on its back until he or she gets the correct answers. Every error must be redone correctly the same day it is handed back.

 

As I’ve mentioned, the changes in three weeks have been amazing. Should I wait another 80 days before I speak?  Would that be more responsible?

Or should I trust that you can judge for yourselves, and move forward.  I’m choosing the latter.

##

My realization that the core of my Lifewriting teaching, the most basic applications, are the “Ancient Child” and the “Five Minute Miracle”.   Coincidence?  Synchronicity?     What if, I whispered to myself this morning, I assumed that I now had everything I need to accomplish my most important lifetime goal:

 

Creating ONE MILLION AWAKE, AWARE, ADULT human beings

 

What if it was even possible..?

 

Oh my God, did the “pretender voices” in my head ever try to tell me to shut up.

 

But…here I go.

 

###

 

Today is a stunningly important day. For thirty years I’ve been testing LIFEWRITING.   This is the notion that the Hero’s Journey and the Chakras contain all the information you need to evolve and succeed as a balanced, awake, aware, happy human being.  Thousands of students later, I’m more convinced than ever that this is a valid approach.

 

But the HJ was both a technique, a perspective, and a means of organizing other technologies.   A SYNTAX.  You could take ANY success principles you loved, and organize them on this pattern to achieve ANY definable goal with greater efficiency and effectiveness.  The first “Lifewriting” workshops I clustered techniques about increasing energy, finding aliveness and creativity, focus, healing, and love.

 

Dear God, I’d traveled a lot of roads and collected that stack of stuff. Useful stuff.  Stuff that helped me find the love of my life, build a successful writing career, and earn three black belts.   Master fear and focus. Create an unshakably powerful positive attitude toward life, what the late Saint Ed Bryant called “Obnoxiously Exuberant”.

I can own that.

##

How could I winnow the thousands of ideas learned from the best, strongest, most successful and interesting, evolved and creative human beings it has been my honor to meet?  From Ray Bradbury  and Elon Musk to Sijo Steve Muhammad and Sri Chinmoy?

Back in 2008 I did this with the best  101 notions, and that was the 101 PROGRAM.  101 Days to personal excellence was the goal.

 

I gave it away FREE to hundreds of people, then sat back and watched. What did they use? How did they use it?  What did they ignore?  What worked? What failed?

 

About nine years ago, Scott Sonnon’s “Flow State Performance Spiral” combined with Pavel Tsatsouline’s “Grease the Groove” to suggest that just a “Five Minute Miracle” could evolve your body/minds reactions to stress.  Dr. Steven Sideroff was so impressed by the concept that he invited me to practice these techniques at the ultra high-end Moonview stress clinic, where for years I was paid absurdly well to help wealthy, powerful, no b.s. ultra-high performers who had access to the best of the best coaches and doctors.   And…on the sly, the man who scheduled the sessions told me that the clients preferred me to any other expert at the clinic.  Most of whom had Doctorates or formal degrees in psychology, psychiatry, stress physiology, or more.

That little old Life-Hacker, me.

What in the hell was I doing, he asked..? Hell, all I did was walk in, teach them to breathe, and share an hour or two of honest time with them. Moving, laughing, talking, having fun, sometimes crying together.  Just honest time, being healthy animals together.

I wish I could spend an hour like that with each and every one of the hundreds of thousands of people I want to help.  I can’t.  What the hell CAN I do..?

##

About six years ago I finally nailed down a useful definition of “Mastery”.

 

Five years ago the concept of Spiritual Autolysis by “Jed Mckenna” simplified a library of books on spiritual evolution until the core could fit onto a post card.

 

Four years ago, a comment from the Dalai Lama in a printed interview opened my eyes. To a simple, workable Meaning of Life.

 

For the last three years, the Ancient Child and Daily Ritual emerged as the most basic steps.

 

And for the last year, been looking at what can be accomplished in just five minutes. The recent breakthrough with Jason convinces me that the RIGHT five minutes can transform a child…and that means you can transform an adult as well.

 

This morning I realized that this just might be,  for all practical purposes, the point where my entire life’s work just came together.

 

How simple can it get? What is the seed? What is the MINIMUM I can offer?   It has seemed like an impossible task, but it’s what I’ve been doing for my entire life.  I’m now 65.  Not going to be 64 next year.  If I’m ever going to put it all together…this is the time.

 

I woke up this morning, and Little Stevie told me I was ready.

 

 

  • The Goal:   One million awake, aware, adult human beings
  • The Method: a 101 day/Five minutes a day program
  • Time investment:  One week (sample) 90- days  to One Year (core program)
  • Venue: Internet: email, web-based.  Home study, on their own schedule.  Add a web-based mastermind if possible, and a social media group.
  • Intent: physical, mental, emotional mastery for adults and their children.

 

 

Is this possible?  Depends on definitions.  If the greatest masters of life I’ve ever known seem to agree on the following statement (primary synthesis: Steve Muhammad and George Leonard):

 

Mastery is a verb, not a noun. A vector, not a position.  Once you have the basics committed to unconscious competence, and have committed to a daily path for a lifetime, you are on the Path of Mastery as much as anyone else on that path, even those horizons ahead.”

 

Then the question of

  1. Commitment for 5 minutes for 7 days, mastering some small piece of the puzzle to convince your inner and outer selves that the method works.  OFFER THIS PIECE FREE, TO ANYONE, AS A WAY OF SAYING “THANK YOU” TO THE UNIVERSE.

 

Then for those who wish more guidance:

 

  1. Commitment to balance
  2. Daily practice of at least five minutes for at least 101 Days
  3. Develop the intuition to self-guide from that point onward.

 

Does that make sense? Who is this going to be for?  There is only one answer that can be made with 100% integrity:

 

My Avatar, my perfect student, is ME, from childhood onward.   THAT guy. That kid who once stood crying in the street knowing he’d rather die than let others define him, beat him, break him, even if he saw no way to accomplish his dreams.

That means it has to be PERFECT for people who want  mastery in:

 

Martial Arts

Writing

Relationships

 

In other words, anyone who  wants to be a black belt married to his/her soulmate and enjoy a successful writing career.  Does that make sense? PERFECT for him.

 

But it also had to be  EXCELLENT AND INVALUABLE for a woman who wants those things.  Or  anyone who wants any one  of them.

And if it is, it would also be WONDERFUL for anyone who wants one or all of:

Body: Health and fitness

Mind: How to make a living doing something that gives you pleasure.  How to help yourself or a loved one  succeed in just 5 minutes a day

Spirit: How to be at peace within yourself, love yourself, love others.  Be HAPPY.

 

The rest is just specific application.

 

Five Minutes.   101 Days.  The path to mastery.

 

I have my own “pretender voices” screaming at me.  How DARE I think I can do this? Who the hell do I think I am?

 

And yet…

 

If not me, who?

If not now, when?

And why should I indulge the weakest, palest, most frightened and angry voices in my head?

 

How about I  let YOU guys be the judge, tell ME if this is of value, and not let either the positive or negative ego voices twist my tail?  What about that?

 

I tell you what…if YOU guys tell me that what I’ve been doing is worth while…that this sounds like coolness…that  you would like me to move forward, and clearly deleniate this path, to stop dancing around it and go right to the heart…I will.  But if you don’t think I’ve been saying anything of value over the last years…I won’t.  Honestly.  It’s up to you.

 

Would this be a good thing?

 

FIRST LAW:   The most basic information will be given FREE.  Say, a “Seven Day” Jumpstart” program.  Totally free.   Covering, say, the Daily Ritual applied to adults and children.  Body, Mind, Spirit.

 

Does that sound fair?  Would you be interested?

 

 

Namaste

Steve

One comment

  1. Steve:

    What you’re saying sounds good, and what you’ve been doing/saying/offering has merit and value, or I wouldn’t still be listening.

    And of course I’m interested in your proposed free seven-day jumpstart program. Can’t wait to see what synthesis of your previous stuff it will encompass.

    But as someone who constantly battles the clock for any regularly schedulable free time in which to pursue my own interests, I have to wonder what the time commitment for your proposed program will actually be? I know you keep saying “five minutes a day,” but from your description of your daily work with Jason over the past few weeks, that’s the _minimum_ amount of time to be shared; it sounds like (correct me if I’m wrong) sometimes Jason’s enthusiasm and interest causes the sessions to run long. (A positive thing, obviously.) In your own “Lifewriting” description, the “one sentence a day” is anticipated to become more than that. The other day you laid out nine different aspects of a person’s life which could each be addressed in just five minutes a day – but together, that adds up to a minimum of 45 minutes a day. In my own experience, just doing the Five Tibetans and Scott Sonnon’s Intuflow joint mobility takes about a half-hour.

    So my question is: In your prospective program, will the time commitment really be just five minutes a day? Or is that the minimum start-point, with the understanding/expectation/hope that over time, the time-commitment will expand?

    Just looking for some clarity, marketing vs. practical application.

    As a consumer, I am naturally also curious as to what the cost of the subsequent programs might be. Clearly it’s too early for you to have set up a price-scale, but while I think you should move ahead with this project (and obviously, your time, effort, experience and expertise are valuable, and something for which you should be adequately compensated) cost is a consideration which will determine its accessibility. How much will the 90 day program cost? What about the 101-day program – and what more might that encompass than the 90-day program? How much will the year-long program cost?

    But again, I’m definitely interested in seeing you move forward with this, and look forward to seeing what it becomes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

