Like Any Good Halloween Monstrosity, this one won’t stay dead

Oh, it pops up about once a week in my stream, and about once a month someone says it directly.  So I’ll answer it directly:
##

A reader said:

I’ve read a lot of things you’ve had to say about race, and they seem to be well thought
out and balanced, even if I don’t always agree with everything. However, I can’t
remember hearing you speak on a specific topic related to current culture. I found the
following quote on someone else’s wall, and wondered if you would be willing to express
your thoughts on it.

“The Black family survived centuries of slavery and generations of Jim Crow, but it has

disintegrated in the wake of the liberals’ expansion of the welfare state.” — Thomas Sowell

 ###
 MY RESPONSE:
I  think Sowell is entitled to his opinion. But he’s fallen into what I call the “Current
Southern Apologia”, the urgent desire by slavers and the descendants of slavers to avoid
responsibility for 350 years of rape, torture, murder, kidnapping and brainwashing by
blaming the damage on 50 years of free sandwiches.
###
It really does remind me of a pyromaniac blaming the damage in a burning house on the
firemen who axed down the door.  Or a child molester blaming the damage to his victims
on the neighborhood gossip that followed his arrest and conviction.
Leave a Reply

